Certification of Coal Mine Officials
The Bureau of Mine Safety is the authorized agent for the State of New Mexico to certify coal officials for surface and underground coal operations. Certification is granted to qualifying persons through the verification of training and experience as well as successful completion of a comprehensive examination in the safety and health requirements based on the Code of Federal Regulation, Title 30.
Upcoming Certification Date:Nov 18th, 2021.
Location: BMS Offices, 101 East Road, Socorro, NM
All certifications are good for 5 years unless the certification is revoked. (See REVOCATION below) Training and re-training of mine foreman, examiners, etc. should be conducted by the operator following the requirements of Qualified/Certified personnel under the code of Federal Regulations Title 30 (30CFR).
Certification may be revoked by the New Mexico State Inspector in cases where the certified official is charged with negligence, dereliction of duty, or unwarrantable failure to comply with State or Federal laws as required. Revocation will not be considered without a thorough investigation and notice of action will be given to the certified person(s), current and previous employers, and any other interested parties. If the certified person wishes to appeal the decision of the State Mine Inspector a written letter of appeal must be submitted to the Bureau of Mine Safety within 30 days of the Notice of Intent to Revoke Certification.
All persons requesting certification must submit a completed application packet to the Bureau of Mine Safety at least 30 days prior to the next scheduled examination. Applicants will be notified through their company official or through the US Mail whether the application has been approved. Approved applicants must pay a fee of $100 (cash, check, money order or credit card payment)* to the Bureau of Mine Safety in order to sit for the exam. If an applicant fails the examination they will be required to take the examination again in its entirety in order to secure certification. Re-testing is allowed no less than 30 days after the failed exam. Re-testing will not require an additional $100 fee for the 1st re-test but will for a second test subsequent after that if required.
*(A fee of $25.00 will be added for checks returned for any reason and certification will not be provided until the check amount and the returned check fee have been paid.)
Recertification is required every 5 years after initial certification. All coal mine officials certified prior to July 1, 2007 begin the 5 year period on that date and their certificates expire on July 1, 2012. Recertification requirements are explained in Title 188.8.131.52 NMAC.
Application packets and instructions are available in a PDF file below.
Underground Foreman Instructions & Application
Underground Examiners Instructions & Application
General Underground Coal Mine Foreman
Surface Foreman Instructions & Application
Surface Coal Examiner (Contractors) Instructions & Application
Plan Recertification Form 2020
Recertification Application - Exam
Click here to download Acrobat Reader